A garden in the Kingdom Of Fife

I live in the Kingdom of Fife and I am starting this blog as a wee sister to my friends’ A French Garden Blog.

I think my friend has come up with a wonderful idea that of using her blog to get to grips with her garden. She is doing this by sharing her experiences in her garden and asking others for help and advice so I would like to join in.

It is a another miserable “driech” day here on the East Coast of Scotland and I thought I would start by catching you up with what I have achieved in the last couple of weeks and give you an idea of what already grows in my garden without my intervention.

For those not familiar with Scots lingo

driech = dark, overcast with clouds and raining. The type of rain varies it can be:- pouring down, drizzle, horizontal, stoating, etc.

My first choice of photo is Wild Garlic since I have given my blog a french title and it is in flower in the garden this week.

I took this photo a few years ago but as it is too wet to go out today and take more photos this one will have to do. It is a good representation of the weed problem in the garden, as you can also see a wild bramble too.  Brambles are annoying because they catch you round the ankles and trip you and can also get through the thickest of leather gloves. But on the upside the fruit makes wonderful Bramble Jelly.

The Tattie Patch  I started scribbling down notes for my blog on the 3rd of May which was a warm sunny (the day of the Council elections) when I stopped for a break.  I got out pen and paper after digging over a small area approx 3m by 3m to plant “tatties”. As the soil was wet and heavy I soon needed a rest and had to make a plan of which order to plant the potatoes in ground. The varieties I chose were Pink Fir, Shetland Black, Arran Victory, Golden Wonder and Kerrs Pink.  This is a mix of salad, 2nd Early and Main Crop and Late Varieties.  So after a bit of thought I have put them in the order that they should be harvested.  But, I did not get that done until the following Tuesday after that it rained solid from that day on.  (No,  I fibbed as it didn’t really, but I skived off on the only decent day on the Saturday to go and see the artists Open Studios in Newburgh).

Red Currant Bushes  I was given some red currant bushes by a friend and ended up planting them in the rain on the May Day Bank Holiday as they would have died if I left it any longer.  I have since been informed by my other half that the Gooseberry bush has an infestation of Saw Fly which also like Red Currant bushes.  The gooseberry bush has not had this problem any other year and I think they Saw Fly may have arrived with the Red Currants. My other half says that there are too many to pick of by hand.

Oh dear…..

with that I will leave you as I go to track down some cure for the problem. 

About lejardineduroyaume

The property has a walled garden and an orchard containing 50 fruit trees which date back to the 15th Century. These fairly mature trees need to be replaced by grafting scions onto root stock to create young trees. I would also like to get more from my garden by growing my own vegetables, salads and herbs. I would also like help my significant other to re-establish a physic garden on this site.
This entry was posted in Botanical, Garden, greenhouse, heritage, Orchard and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

