Underneath the cherry tree and unexpected gifts

The weather was sunny and warm again today so I thought I would burn some weeds so I got the bonfire going. Then once it was smouldering away I decided to do some digging under the cherry tree .  I am going to put a vegetable patch there and then build a fruit cage over it all so I can protect both the Cherry Tree and the vegetables from birds, rabbits and any other creatures that would like to nibble on them.

The veg patch before I dug it

Found some greenfly on the cherry tree put there by ants who farm them….. they carry the aphids (greenfly) up the tree and place them on the tips of the branch and then protect them so they can live off the secretions the aphids produce….. Need some organic pest control

Guess what I found while digging the veg plot underneath….. so I put it on the cherry tree….. result organic pest control

Then I got distracted by a series of unexpected visitors bearing gifts….

I gave my friend this rhubarb from my patch to use

Today she arrived with these…..

Rhubarb cup cakes…. they were yummy

As I went to put the kettle on to make a cup of coffee to go with the Rhubarb Cup Cake, a man appeared at the gate…. a German tourist who was visiting Scotland with his Wife and four small daughters on an Agate collecting holiday. They wanted to have a look around the castle. So I showed them some maps, old drawings of the castle and an old book on agate collecting and gave them tea and coffee and a tour of the castle and garden.  The man was a Stonemason to trade and has promised to return next year with a cut and polished agate my son gave him. He also promised to give my significant other a helping hand with the castle. We are going to keep in touch by email and I am going to copy and send to him some pages from the Agate collecting book.  As they left they gave me a bottle of German White Wine…… it was a real surprise. What a nice couple.

Anyways despite all the distractions I did manage to dig over the veggie plot……

The freshly dug veg patch…. ta da…

Any way it has been a really good day and I still managed to get all today’s goals achieved I am off now to have another cup cake…. think I will save the wine for later.

About lejardineduroyaume

The property has a walled garden and an orchard containing 50 fruit trees which date back to the 15th Century. These fairly mature trees need to be replaced by grafting scions onto root stock to create young trees. I would also like to get more from my garden by growing my own vegetables, salads and herbs. I would also like help my significant other to re-establish a physic garden on this site.
This entry was posted in Botanical, Castle, Garden, heritage, Heritage plants and Fruit Trees, Orchard, Organic pest control, Walled garden and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

