Hot weather in Scotland I must be dreaming….

After all the moaning about the rain here I am in the middle of the afternoon hiding inside from the sun. It is 28 degrees centigrade outside, it was 32 degrees in the greenhouse, and the kitchen inside the house in full shade is a balmy 20 degrees.

Some photographic evidence is required

I told my significant other those wee trees will have to go outside….. they are pear trees not orange trees

I only got the temperature in the greenhouse down to 28 by opening all the windows and doors….. Lucky the grapevine is providing a wee bit of shade.

Outside on the window sill by the kitchen door….

Yes, I am in Scotland and yes, it was only 9 degrees three days ago and that was discounting the wind chill factor

Tasks I have abandoned and I am about to return too right now….

Seeds, seed tray, pots, compost, gloves,……. check But it is too hot stay out there

Thought I would cool off by washing some pots……

I did not know we had so many pots…… feels like doing the dishes but at least the water is cold to cool me down

Right got to get back out there it is 4pm….. must have cooled down a bit surely.

About lejardineduroyaume

The property has a walled garden and an orchard containing 50 fruit trees which date back to the 15th Century. These fairly mature trees need to be replaced by grafting scions onto root stock to create young trees. I would also like to get more from my garden by growing my own vegetables, salads and herbs. I would also like help my significant other to re-establish a physic garden on this site.
This entry was posted in greenhouse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hot weather in Scotland I must be dreaming….

  1. Ha ha love it! We spend weeks moaning about the rain then as soon as the sun comes out we moan about how it’s too hot to do anything outside. Fickle is the word! Enjoy the sunshine. Hopefully things will start to grow now!

    • Thanks for the advice but don’t worry too much about the pallet, I have some corrugated iron too and it will be a sort of walk in compost heap with a carpet on top of the stuff. The pallet is just to hold too temporarily hold everything in place….. I am going to put another compost bin at the side…. photos will follow…

    • As you are in the same area you are really able to appreciate the dramatic climate change…. boots, woolies, hats and scarves to keep out the wind and three days later T-shirt, shorts and sandals…. lol

Leave a Reply

