Warm weather activity…. Name that flower?

Another day of blistering heat here on the East Coat of  Scotland …… temperature hovering just below 30 degrees C at midday.  So what is in flower in the garden today …. and more importantly try to find out what they are….

Right start with something easy

Bramley Seedling Apple Blossom

This Quest, to find names for all the flowers in my garden. has been driven on by glorious images from the Chelsea Flower Show……. I keep seeing things I have in my garden in some of the shots….. but they don’t discuss or describe every flower….. There I am muttering at the TV’ no not that the other one tell me about the other one’……..  Can someone not invent an app where I take a picture of a flower and submit it and 10 seconds later…… Ta da …. It comes up with  some gobbledy gook latin name that I can at least find in a book.

This next one looks kind of like might be related to a poppy. Anyone got any idea…

Little yellow flowers

 I need to find out what I have in the garden.  Take for instance the other day when I was speaking to a friend the other day, she was looking for some tall plants for her garden.  Well, I have some that could be divided…. so I said she could have some… She said ‘what are they called’…. I said ‘I don’t know I never planted them they were in the garden when we got it’..   As  they are not in flower at the moment I am now frantically looking through photographs of the garden to see if I can spot them.  So my mission is to try to identify every flower in the garden.  But I need to get some help or a least source a decent book…

mmm Purple flowers Is this a Daphne Burkwoodi

Clematis of unknown variety


I know this one…. Peony Rose

Argh. I do know this one but I have forgotten…. wait. wait for it. it is coming back to me …..( quick google search to check)  yes it is ………  Aqualija – very common here in Fife. Self seeding.

I have been surfing the net to find out the identity of my irises in particular and flowers in general ….. Guess what I found out.  No laughing now…. promise…. OK then…. Irises are sold bare rooted.  I have wasted my time potting them up!!

So here is what I done now….. Remember the hole I got the earth to pot up the irises with, well I have made it bigger ….. stuck them all in there to keep the roots moist and I will fish them out next Saturday. Oh well, you live and learn.  Upside…. they will be a lot lighter and easier to carry now. It could have been worse I could have found out after the Makers Market.

Lastly anyone know this little one……

Little white flowers

About lejardineduroyaume

The property has a walled garden and an orchard containing 50 fruit trees which date back to the 15th Century. These fairly mature trees need to be replaced by grafting scions onto root stock to create young trees. I would also like to get more from my garden by growing my own vegetables, salads and herbs. I would also like help my significant other to re-establish a physic garden on this site.
This entry was posted in Flowers, Garden, Heritage plants and Fruit Trees, Orchard, Plant Identification and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

