Herb garden on a ‘hot tin roof with a view’

Well, after a week of high temperatures which were, according to the newspapers ‘on a par with Rio de Janerio’, the weather in Scotland has returned to normal.  It only took 10 minutes to normalize …..  it went from 24 degrees centigrade to 14 degrees centigrade …. bang… just like that.  How did that happen so quickly.  Well, I will tell you.  Basically, the wind picked up and the sun went behind a cloud and never came back out.  I was out in the garden at the time and as I saw the black clouds rolling in, I decided to take the washing in…… The almost immediate drop in temperature had me shivering so much I had to take a jumper straight off the washing line and put it on me right away…… That is Scotland for you…… lol.

Oh well, I had so much to do in the garden and couldn’t get on with it because it was way too hot… So no excuses now.

I did a few things while the weather was hot…… Finally persuaded my significant other to take his ‘wee Heritage pear trees’ out of the green house.

Scottish Heritage pear trees

They look more comfy now out in the fresh air in the cold frame ….. protected from the rabbits by extra plastic mesh and a brick wall.  They are just fine.

See they are fine…. no more molly coddling…. Ok just a wee bittie

Some of the other plants in there are begging for their freedom…..

These ones are campaigning to be released into the garden.

I will plant them out tomorrow, it will be cooler.  I got these plants on Wednesday from the Cat Shop in Newburgh (it raises money for the Whinneybank Cat Sanctuary).  I was really lucky as I got almost the first choice of these plants just freshly dropped off for sale by some kind soul a few minutes before.  So much cheaper than the garden center and the money goes to support the Whinneybank Cat Sanctuary.   So I got some Snapdragons,  mini Sunflowers,  and a few other flowers. The best bit was, that I got Cucumber plants, Tomato plants and Chilli plants. I usually grow mine from seed but as you may know if you have read my blog The greenhouse is full, someone was ‘hogging the greenhouse’, so there was no room for me to grow my seedlings. Great stuff, as I can catch up now on the growing season.

Mean while in the green house, this lot below are demanding their rights!!!

Help the grapevine is trying to get us….. please move us into bigger pots or growbags

While on the other bench, up the other end…..

Cucumbers and herbs planted on Tuesday 22nd May before I bought some

And next to them more herbs potted on Saturday 26th May

The seeds mostly Basil were free with packs of Lurpak butter last year

A greenhouse in a greenhouse. It works the seeds are sprouting already…. look…..

Zoom in Zoom in…… there are signs of life already

Ok, shall we move on to more caged plants…..

The Scottish Strawberries are in High Security Fort Knox style cages….. A comment from them: Err, we don’t mind the cage….. it might keep oot the rabbits…. but fit a’ boot the mice and the slugs.

The Cherry Tree overseeing the new Veggie Plot has some further comments to make on security arrangements…

Those crows have been eyeing me up for weeks…. your joking aren’t you…. Finish the roof… what do you mean you’ve run oot o black mesh…… Help!!! No, Don’t leave it like this… the wind is picking up.

Don’t worry.  I have black mesh over top the cherry tree and if I canny get more black mesh I will improvise.  More wooden supports are also on the way.  I was sawing up the wood for this on Sunday morning as the sun rose higher and higher in the sky.  This job has abandoned twice due to the heat making working on it impossible.  My son and helper even begging to go indoors.  Not surprising as the temperature soared higher and higher too, breaking records for May.

Oh and one of Bob’s Honey Bees was trying the mesh for access…… (Bob has a couple of hives not far away). This was while me and the wee one were trying to attach the mesh to the posts….. Nearly stood on the wee bee….

Ok, I made it through but you better tell him about the hole in the black plastic

Ok, I can get back oot too!! Carry on

A final word from some herbs bought from Mr Lear stall ‘Plants for Purpose’ at Perth out door market a few Saturdays ago and then put into bigger pots on Saturday …..  These are safe on top of the roof of the wood shed and some are even more safe in the hanging baskets at the kitchen door…..

What a ‘braw’ view of the castle ….. crows, what crows, oh those crows……. Wait a minute this tin roof is roasting…….. Err, could we come down please.

So despite the blistering heat of the last week I have achieved somethings….

About lejardineduroyaume

The property has a walled garden and an orchard containing 50 fruit trees which date back to the 15th Century. These fairly mature trees need to be replaced by grafting scions onto root stock to create young trees. I would also like to get more from my garden by growing my own vegetables, salads and herbs. I would also like help my significant other to re-establish a physic garden on this site.
This entry was posted in Botanical, Castle, Garden, greenhouse, heritage, Heritage plants and Fruit Trees, Orchard, Walled garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Herb garden on a ‘hot tin roof with a view’

  1. mark says:

    very nice blog Julie….well done

Leave a Reply

